BET's The New Edition Story — New Trailer


added: Sat, Dec 31st '16

In January, BET will be airing a special three-part miniseries chronicling the meteoric rise and breakup of R&B boy band New Edition. And the network has released a new trailer to keep fans excited.

Seen as the next generation of the Jackson 5, the '80s group -- whose members included Ralph Tresvant, Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Ronnie DeVoe, and the ultimate bad-boy Bobby Brown, who was later fired from the team and replaced with Johnny Gill -- is perhaps best known for the hit songs "Candy Girl," "Cool It Now," "Mr. Telephone Man," and "Can You Stand the Rain."

Directed by Chris Robinson (ATL) from a script by Abdul Williams (Lottery Ticket), the three-night drama will follow the group's career from their humble beginnings in Boston to chart-topping stardom in the mid-'80s.

The cast includes newcomer Woody McClain (Autographs) as Bobby Brown, Algee Smith (Let It Shine) as Ralph Tresvant, Elijah Kelley (The Wiz Live!) as Ricky Bell, Bryshere Gray (Empire) as Michael Bivins, and Keith Powers (Straight Outta Compton) as Ronnie DeVoe. Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Luke James also appears in the miniseries as Johnny Gill, while "Stranger Things" kid actor Caleb McLaughlin is playing a younger version of Ricky Bell.

Michael Rapaport, Wood Harris, Faizon Love, Yvette Nicole Brown and La La Anthony also star.

"The New Edition Story" is set to premiere Tuesday, January 24th.

New Edition laid the foundation for how modern-day boy bands look, feel, and sound. Boyz II Men, N'SYNC, The Backstreet Boys, and New Kids On The Block all took their cues from Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky, Mike, Ralph and Johnny. After 30 years of breaking hearts on the record and from the stage, New Edition finally gets the biopic that their stellar tenure in entertainment so richly deserves. This 3-part miniseries follows the group from their middle school lunchroom to global megastardom -- weathering the highs and lows of controversy, personnel changes, and the ultimate cost of fame.


directed by   Chris Robinson

starring   Bryshere Gray, Elijah Kelley, Woody McClain, Algee Smith, Keith Powers, Luke James, Wood Harris, Michael Rapaport, Faizon Love, Yvette Nicole Brown, Caleb McLaughlin

release date   January 24, 2017 (on BET)

View all trailers / clips for:

blog comments powered by Disqus